Turkey Info

About Turkey

Ankara is the capital of the Republic of Turkey and It is located at the intersection of Europe, Asia and Africa.

Bulgaria and Greece are in the west boarder of Turkey ; Iran, Georgia, Armenia and Nakhichevan are in the east; and neighboring Iraq and Syria are in the South of turkey and three sides of those neighbors as well as Turkey is surrounded by sea. Turkey has a total area of 783 562 km2 and the direction of car driving  is from the right, and  in 2018, the population has exceeded 81 million, Turkey bears the character of a mutually gateway to the European and Asian continents and it is one of the few countries in the world that has strategic importance with this significant location, also the membership process to be part of European Union is under-process of negotiations.

State: Republic

Administrative: Democracy

International Area Code: 0090

Currency: The currency of the Republic of Turkey is Turkish Lira and The sub-unit of the Turkish Lira is cents.

Turkey is divided into seven geographical regions and it is also divided into provinces and districts in terms of central administration; administrative governors in provinces and district governors in districts

There are 81 provinces and 957 districts in these seven geographical regions.

About Turkey

The following map shows seven geographic regions. The green part shows the Marmara region, the yellow part is in the Aegean region, the blue part is in the Black Sea Region, the orange part is in the Central Anatolia region, the brown part is in the Mediterranean Region, the red part is in the Eastern Anatolia Region, and the part indicated with purple is in the South East Anatolia Region. These seven geographical regions do not have any political characteristics.

About regions in Turkey

About regions in Turkey

black Sea region

It took its name from the Black Sea which is located in the North with its coastal extension.

In the summer months, the region has a lot of precipitation and the winter months are warmer according to the country in general.

The Black Sea region is the wettest region in Turkey. There are 18 cities in the Black Sea region. Some cities in the region; Trabzon, Samsun, Ordu and Rize.

Marmara Region

The Marmara Region, named after the Sea of Marmara, located at the intersection of Europe and Asia, has historical, touristic and geographical beauties.

The Dardanelles and the Bosphorus are divided into two; Eastern territories belong to the Asian continent, Western territories belong to the European continent.

It is also the most densely populated region compared to other regions. There are 11 cities in the Marmara region. Some cities in the region are; Istanbul, Bursa, Çanakkale, Edirne, Kocaeli and Yalova.

Aegean Region

The region takes its name from the Aegean Sea, extends perpendicular to the mountainous shores. Aegean Region is the region with the highest coastal length due to its indentation and protruding.

Because of the fertility of the soil, the product variety is very high. , it ranks second after Marmara region In terms of industry, trade, tourism and population.The region where the industry is highly developed is Izmir and its surroundings. It is highly developed in terms of summer tourism.

It is one of the regions where domestic and foreign tourists flock due to its wide beaches and coasts. There are 8 cities in the Aegean region. Some cities in the region are; İzmir, Aydın, Muğla, Denizli and Afyon.

the Mediterranean region

located in the south region of Turkey took its name from the Mediterranean. İt is the hottest regions of Turkey in an average year.

Especially during the summer tourism in the region, it is starting early and ends late. As a result of the climate, this situation is an attraction center for tourists and holidaymakers from all over the world.

The importance of the Mediterranean Region is high in world summer tourism. Antalya is also host to some of the Golf organizations in the world. There are 8 cities in the Mediterranean region. Some cities in the region are; Antalya, Adana, Mersin and Hatay.

Southeastern Anatolia Region

the name is set here because it represents the southeastern parts of Turkey. It has large flats and agricultural areas. Agriculture and animal husbandry in the region are significantly improved; especially pistachio is one of the most important agricultural products of the region. As industry, density in Gaziantep and its surrounding density is increasing day by day.There are 9 cities in Southeastern Anatolia, Some cities in the region are; Gaziantep, Sanliurfa and Diyarbakir.

Eastern Anatolia Region

It takes its name from the location to which Turkey is located in the east.

The highest peak in Turkey and the most intense mountainous region is  Eastern Anatolia region.

It is the hardest and coldest part of the winter months. Livestock is the first in the region. İt is Turkey’s largest region in terms of area. Nevertheless, Eastern Anatolia is our region with the least population.

Mount Ararat in Turkey, the highest mountain located in this region.

largest lake is Lake Van inTurkey , which is also located in this region. It ranks first in apricot production.

There are 14 cities in Eastern Anatolia. Some cities in the region are; Malatya, Erzurum, Ağrı and Van.

Central Anatolia Region

Our region Located in the middle of Turkey and with vast plains.

Ankara the capital of  Turkey is located in this region. Central Anatolia Region is the second largest in terms of area of Turkey.There is a border to all regions except for Southeast Anatolia.Turkey ‘s second largest lake is the Salt Lake which is located in the Central Anatolia Region. It also ranks second in terms of population density. Konya Plain is Turkey’s most important grain sources. There are 13 cities in Central Anatolia. Some cities in the region are; Ankara, Konya, Nevsehir, Eskisehir and Kayseri.


public holidays in Turkey;

Official HolidaysDate
New Year1 January
National Sovereignty and Children’s Day23April
Labor and Solidarity Day1 May
Atatürk and Youth and Sports Day19May
Democracy Day15July
victory Day30 August
Republic Day29October
Feast of Ramadan3 days
Feast of Sacrifice4 days
Contact Us
close slider